Eucharist

I’m thankful for my family, especially my sister, even though she still doesn’t know how to keep score in bridge and it cost us the rubber today.

I’m thankful for my children, especially now that they are asleep, but even earlier, when they were watching the movie, or trying to kill each other downstairs with the cousins.

I’m thankful we survived the valley of tears that is 495 and 270.

I’m thankful for Cthulhu Saves the World, Edgar Allan Poe, and H.P. Lovecraft.  And the internet that makes it possible for me to have these treasures for basically zero cost.  At least until the solar flares wipe out the digital age.

I’m thankful for my job, in which I get to teach my favorite subjects to generally exceptional young men.  I missed it a little bit today, and I’m sad that I won’t have ERC tomorrow.

I’m thankful for Epic Recitation Club and the goofy nerds in it.  Mem0: get a picture taken for the blog.

I’m thankful for my wife for an uncountable number of reasons.  Pretty high up there is the apple pie she baked.  Even higher: that she noticed I was too full to eat pie tonight so she saved me a piece before my locust family could devour it all.

It feels wrong to put God, my creation, sacraments, the Church, and redemption on par with these things.  Origen would have called God “Thanks-Itself” I think.  But here He comes to give me words for it:

Give thanks to the Lord for He is good;
His steadfast love endures forever.

Thou art my God and I will give thanks to thee;
thou art my God, I will extol thee
Give thanks to the Lord for He is good;
His steadfast love endures forever.

And I’m thankful for that too.

Leave a Reply

