St. Anselm Oratio VIII

(scroll to bottom for  unbroken English)

Oratio VIII

Prayer 8

Ad Deum

To God

Deus inaestimabilis misericordiae, Deus immensae pietatis, Deus conditor et reparator humani generis, qui confitentium tibi corda purgas, et accusantes ante conspectu divinae clementiae tuae ab omni iniquitatis vinculo absolvis, virtutem tuam totis exoro gemitibus, ut secundum multitudinem miserationum tuarum de omnibus iniquitatibus meis, de quibus me accusat conscientia mea, puram mihi coram te concedas agere confessionem, veramque ex his omnibus et condignam mihi tribuas poenitentiam, quaecunque peccavi in cogitationibus pravis, in consensu malo, in consilio iniquo, in concupiscentia atque delectatione immunda, in verbis otiosis, in factis malitiosis, in visu, auditu, gustu, odoratu et tactu.

God of inestimable mercy, God of immense piety, God the Preserver and Repairer of the human race, Who purges the hearts of those confessing You and absolves from every bond of iniquity those accusing themselves before the sight of Your divine clemency:

I entreat Your power with all weeping, that–according to the multitude of your mercies concerning all my iniquities, concerning which my conscience accuses me–You may grant me to make pure confession before You and give to me true and condign penitence from all these things:

whatsoever I have sinned in depraved thoughts, in evil consensus, in wicked counsel, in impure concupiscence and delight, in otiose words, in malicious deeds, in sight, hearing, taste, smell, and touch.

Tu enim misericors ad operandum mihi animae meae salutem membra singula humanis usibus apta dedisti, sed ego miserrimus omnium et peccator te aeternae salutis amatorem contempsi, et aeterna mihi incendia inimico praeparanti consensi, lapsus sum in peccatis, corrui in delictis, in membris singulis vero modum excessi, et impiis me laboribus obnoxium feci; non enim haec narrans tuam, Domine, in me blasphemo creaturam, sed meam a te, piisime Deus, exposco medicinam, quia me reum intelligo supra mensuram, quia ut astra coeli atque arenam maris, ita mea innumerabilia cognosco esse delicta.

You indeed, tender-hearted, for me to work out the salvation of my soul, have given each member to be apt for human use, but I, most wretched of all and a sinner, have contempted You, the Lover of eternal salvation, and have consented to the Enemy preparing eternal fires for me, I have fallen in sins, I have collapsed in delicts, in each member truly have I exceeded the mode, and by impious labors have I made myself obnoxious; not indeed, narrating these things, Lord, do I blaspheme Your creature in me, but my medicine from You, most pious God, do I request, for I understand my guilt to be above measure, for as the stars of heaven and the sand of the sea, so do I know my delicts to be uncountable.

Insuper etiam ira, tristitia, acedia, jactantia atque desidia.

Moreover also wrath, sorrow, sloth, frenzies and idleness.

Unde principalibus vitiis obnoxium me esse profiteor; sed tu, qui non vis mortem peccatoris, respice in me et miserere miseri huius.

Whence by principle vices do I confess myself to be obnoxious; but You, who do not desire the death of the sinner, look back upon me and have mercy on this wretch.

==Notes==

Praeparanti gave me a headache until I started to kvetch about what it should say.  Then it fell into place quickly.  My anglo mind really wanted the eternal fired to be prepared and for the supplicant to be consenting to it!

I’ve considered altering the grammar of the Insuper line just to make the English turn out, but hey…I’m not his editor.  We can borrow entire predicates in Latin.

==Unbroken English==

Prayer 8

To God

God of inestimable mercy, God of immense piety, God the Preserver and Repairer of the human race, Who purges the hearts of those confessing You and absolves from every bond of iniquity those accusing themselves before the sight of Your divine clemency:

I entreat Your power with all weeping, that–according to the multitude of your mercies concerning all my iniquities, concerning which my conscience accuses me–You may grant me to make pure confession before You and give to me true and condign penitence from all these things:

whatsoever I have sinned in depraved thoughts, in evil consensus, in wicked counsel, in impure concupiscence and delight, in otiose words, in malicious deeds, in sight, hearing, taste, smell, and touch.

You indeed, tender-hearted, for me to work out the salvation of my soul, have given each member to be apt for human use, but I, most wretched of all and a sinner, have contempted You, the Lover of eternal salvation, and have consented to the Enemy preparing eternal fires for me, I have fallen in sins, I have collapsed in delicts, in each member truly have I exceeded the mode, and by impious labors have I made myself obnoxious; not indeed, narrating these things, Lord, do I blaspheme Your creature in me, but my medicine from You, most pious God, do I request, for I understand my guilt to be above measure, for as the stars of heaven and the sand of the sea, so do I know my delicts to be uncountable.

Moreover also wrath, sorrow, sloth, frenzies and idleness.

Whence by principle vices do I confess myself to be obnoxious; but You, who do not desire the death of the sinner, look back upon me and have mercy on this wretch.

Leave a Reply

