Translating Psalms (3)

“Domine, quid multiplicati” (Psalm 3)

  1. Psalmus David, cum fugeret a facie Absalom filii sui.
  2. Domine, quid multiplicati sunt qui tribulant me? Multi insurgunt adversum me;
  3. multi dicunt animae meae: Non est salus ipsi in Deo ejus.
  4. Tu autem Domine, susceptor meus es, gloria mea, et exaltans caput meum.
  5. Voce mea ad Dominum clamavi; et exaudivit me de monte sancto suo.
  6. Ego dormivi, et soporatus sum; et exsurrexi, quia Dominus suscepit me.
  7. Non timebo millia populi circumdantis me. Exsurge, Domine; salvum me fac, Deus meus.
  8. Quoniam tu percussisti omnes adversantes mihi sine causa; dentes peccatorum contrivisti.
  9. Domini est salus; et super populum tuum benedictio tua.

A psalm of David, when he fled from the face of Absalom his son.

O Lord, why have they multiplied, who trouble me?  Many arise against me;

many say to my soul: ‘There is no salvation for him in His God.’

But you, Lord, are my sustainer, my glory, and exalting my head.

With my voice to the Lord I cried; and He heard me from His holy mountain.

I slept, and I was made to sleep; and I arose, for the Lord sustained me.

I will not fear thousands of the people encircling me.  Arise, Lord; cause my salvation, My God.

For You have smitten all opposing me without cause; the teeth of sinners You have crushed.

Salvation is of the Lord; and over Your people is Your blessing.

==

Percussisti really should get a powerful verb in English.  Sadly smitten has taken on a silly, romantic air in our degenerate usage.  “For you smote” would read better, but I really want a perfect there, not a simple past: God has always done it before, and He will do it again.

 

Leave a Reply

