Translating Psalms (6)

This is going to get interesting as they get longer.  What’s my threshold for going interlinear?

“Domine, ne in furore” (Psalm 6)

  1. In finem, in carminibus. Psalmus David. Pro octava.
  2. Domine, ne in furore tuo arguas me, neque in ira tua corripias me.
  3. Miserere mei, Domine, quoniam infirmus sum; sana me, Domine, quoniam conturbata sunt ossa mea.
  4. Et anima mea turbata est valde; sed tu, Domine, usquequo?
  5. Convertere, Domine, et eripe animam meam; salvum me fac propter misericordiam tuam.
  6. Quoniam non est in morte qui memor sit tui; in inferno autem quis confitebitur tibi?
  7. Laboravi in gemitu meo; lavabo per singulas noctes lectum meum; lacrimis meis stratum meum rigabo.
  8. Turbatus est a furore oculus meus; inveteravi inter omnes inimicos meos.
  9. Discedite a me omnes qui operamini iniquitatem, quoniam exaudivit Dominus vocem fletus mei.
  10. Exaudivit Dominus deprecationem meam; Dominus orationem meam suscepit.
  11. Erubescant, et conturbentur vehementer omnes inimici mei; convertantur, et erubescant valde velociter.

Unto the end, in songs.  A Psalm of David, pro octava.

O Lord, may You not in Your fury accuse me, nor in Your wrath seize me.

Have mercy on me, O Lord, for I am weak; heal me, O Lord, for troubled are my bones.

And my soul is greatly troubled; but You, O Lord, how long?

Turn, O Lord, and rescue my soul; make me safe on account of Your mercy.

For in death there is no one who is mindful of you; yet in hell who will confess You?

I have labored in my weeping; I will wash through each night my couch; with my tears I will water my blanket.

My eye has been troubled by fury; I have grown old among all my enemies.

Depart from me, all who work iniquity, for the Lord has heard the voice of my weeping.

The Lord has heard my prayer of warding; the Lord has undertaken my orison.

They will be put to shame, and they will be confounded vehemently, all my enemies; they shall be overturned, and they shall be greatly put to shame speedily.

==

Deprecatio is a prayer asking that something terrible be kept at bay or removed (a ward).  An imprecatio is a prayer asking that God lay something terrible upon an enemy (a curse).  Precor is the verb of asking or entreating, and precatio (which we don’t use in English) is a generic noun for prayer built off of it.  Via French, precor became “pray.”

Interestingly, the less-religious family oro, ora, oratio took over as the more common prayer-word later, while the precor family became far less God-directed in French and English (consider the vulgar use of pray in Shakespeare, for example).  I considered a few different configurations here, but went ahead and dug up the rarely-used orison for oratio so that I could keep prayer with the precor family.

 

2 thoughts on “Translating Psalms (6)

  1. The email notification of this post came to me with a little surprise. My mail program interprets a “6” in brackets as a bright red, cheeky devil’s face. Not entirely inappropriate given the reference to hell in the psalm, but a little puzzling until I’d worked out what had happened. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

