Translating Psalms (7)

“Domine Deus meus” (Psalm 7)

[1] Psalmus David, quem cantavit Domino pro verbis Chusi, filii Jemini.

A Psalm of David, which he sang to the Lord because of the words of Chusi, son of Jemini

[2] Domine Deus meus, in te speravi; salvum me fac ex omnibus persequentibus me, et libera me,

O Lord my God, in You have I hoped; make me safe from all pursuing me, and free me,

[3] nequando rapiat ut leo animam meam, dum non est qui redimat, neque qui salvum faciat.

lest ever he seize like a lion my soul, while there is none who redeems, nor one who makes me safe.

[4] Domine Deus meus, si feci istud, si est iniquitas in manibus meis,

O Lord my God, if I have done that, if there is iniquity in my hands,

[5] si reddidi retribuentibus mihi mala, decidam merito ab inimicis meis inanis.

if I have returned evils to those repaying me, deservedly may I perish empty at the hands of my enemies.

[6] Persequatur inimicus animam meam, et comprehendat; et conculcet in terra vitam meam, et gloriam meam in pulverem deducat.

Let my enemy pursue my soul, and overcome; and let him trample on the earth my life, and my glory lead down into the dust.

[7] Exsurge, Domine, in ira tua; et exaltare in finibus inimicorum meorum; et exsurge, Domine Deus meus, in praecepto quod mandasti;

Arise, O Lord, in Your wrath; and exalt in the endings of my enemies; and arise, O Lord my God, in the precept which You have commanded;

[8] et synagoga populorum circumdabit te: et propter hanc in altum regredere.

and a synagogue of peoples will compass You; and on account of this onto the height return.

[9] Dominus judicat populos. Judica me, Domine, secundum justitiam meam, et secundum innocentiam meam super me.

Let the Lord judge the peoples.  Judge me, O Lord, according to my justice, and according to my innocence over me.

[10] Consumetur nequitia peccatorum; et diriges justum, scrutans corda et renes, Deus.

The wickedness of sinners will be consumed; and You will direct the just, examining hearts and bowels, O God.

[11] Justum adjutorium meum a Domino, qui salvos facit rectos corde.

My just aid is from the Lord, Who makes safe the right in heart.

[12] Deus judex justus, fortis, et patiens; numquid irascitur per singulos dies?

God is a judge just, strong, and patient; is He angry through each day?

[13] Nisi conversi fueritis, gladium suum vibrabit; arcum suum tetendit, et paravit illum.

Unless you are converted, He will brandish His sword; He has stretched His bow, and prepared it.

[14] Et in eo paravit vasa mortis, sagittas suas ardentibus effecit.

And in it He has prepared vessels of death, He makes His arrows from burning brands.

[15] Ecce parturiit injustitiam; concepit dolorem, et peperit iniquitatem.

Behold he has brought forth injustice; he has conceived sorrow, and birthed iniquity.

[16] Lacum aperuit, et effodit eum; et incidit in foveam quam fecit.

He has opened a hole, and dug it; and has fallen into the pit which he has made.

[17] Convertetur dolor ejus in caput ejus, et in verticem ipsius iniquitas ejus descendet.

His sorrow will be turned onto his head, and on his own neck will fall his iniquity.

[18] Confitebor Domino secundum justitiam ejus, et psallam nomini Domini altissimi.

I will confess to the Lord according to His justice, and sing to the name of the Lord Most High.

2 thoughts on “Translating Psalms (7)

    1. And any time the psalm is longer than 10 verses, I shall oblige! I go back and forth on the merits of interlinear. I find it irritating to read but necessary when I am doing longer translations…and then it turns out, not everyone shares my feelings on the matter! Let’s just pretend there are two monks in the choir competing to chant, one in English and one in Latin. There, now I feel better.

      Like

Leave a Reply

