Translating Psalms (11)

“Salvum me fac” (Psalm 11)

  1. In finem, pro octava. Psalmus David.
  2. Salvum me fac, Domine, quoniam defecit sanctus, quoniam diminutae sunt veritates a filiis hominum.
  3. Vana locuti sunt unusquisque ad proximum suum; labia dolosa, in corde et corde locuti sunt.
  4. Disperdat Dominus universa labia dolosa, et linguam magniloquam.
  5. Qui dixerunt: Linguam nostram magnificabimus; labia nostra a nobis sunt. Quis noster dominus est?
  6. Propter miseriam inopum, et gemitum pauperum, nunc exsurgam, dicit Dominus. Ponam in salutari; fiducialiter agam in eo.
  7. Eloquia Domini, eloquia casta; argentum igne examinatum, probatum terrae, purgatum septuplum.
  8. Tu, Domine, servabis nos, et custodies nos a generatione hac in aeternum.
  9. In circuitu impii ambulant: secundum altitudinem tuam multiplicasti filios hominum.

Unto the end, pro octava.  A Psalm of David.

Make me safe, O Lord, for the holy one has fallen, for they are diminished, are truths, by the sons of men.

They speak vain things, everyonesoever to his neighbor; deceitful lips, in heart and heart they speak.

The Lord will scatter all deceitful lips, and the boasting tongue.

Who has said: Our tongue shall we magnify; our lips are from us.  Who is our lord?

On account of the misery of the needy, and the weeping of the poor, now shall I arise, says the Lord.  I shall place in a helper; I shall deal faithfully in him.

The sayings of the Lord, chaste sayings; silver tried by fire, proven of earth, purged seven-fold.

You, O Lord, You shall keep us, and guard us from this generation into eternity.

In a circuit the wicked walk: according to Your height you have multiplied the sons of men.

5 thoughts on “Translating Psalms (11)

    1. I decided to take it that way, but I really should have just translated to something cryptic in English. The reality is no one really knows what those superscriptions mean, in Hebrew, in Latin, or in Greek. Plenty of “best guesses” but no one should feel too beholden to any of them. Pro octava, for the eighth or for the octave, sounded suitably musical in Latin so I just left it alone.

      Like

    1. Hah! Yes indeed. One of the funny things about typing up Latin translations is that sometimes while I look at the Latin words I actually type the Latin instead of translating. I take pride in it, since (I hope) it means I’ve got the Latin well-internalized. You have no idea how many times I look down and realize I have a mixed gibberish of English et Latin (like that). Hopefully my fingers can keep vain and vane straight in the future!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My son has the same trouble with Spanish so I know what you mean. 🙂 I would love to be fluent in another language. My husband is pretty good at Latin, but not fluent. We’re having a go at Russian at the moment.

        Like

Leave a Reply

