Translating Psalms (12)

“Usquequo, Domine” (Psalm 12)

  1. In finem. Psalmus David.
  2. Usquequo, Domine, oblivisceris me in finem? usquequo avertis faciem tuam a me?
  3. Quamdiu ponam consilia in anima mea, dolorem in corde meo per diem?
  4. Usquequo exaltabitur inimicus meus super me?
  5. Respice, et exaudi me, Domine Deus meus. Illumina oculos meos, ne umquam obdormiam in morte;
  6. nequando dicat inimicus meus: Praevalui adversus eum. Qui tribulant me exsultabunt si motus fuero;
  7. ego autem in misericordia tua speravi. Exsultabit cor meum in salutari tuo. Cantabo Domino qui bona tribuit mihi; et psallam nomini Domini altissimi.

Unto the end.  A Psalm of David.

How long, O Lord, will You forget me to the last?  How long will You turn Your face from me?

How long shall I set counsels in my soul, sorrow in my heart through the day?

How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

Regard, and hear me, O Lord my God.  Illuminate my eyes, lest ever I sleep in death;

lest ever my enemy say: I have prevailed against him.  Who troubles me shall exult if I shall be moved;

but I, in Thy mercy, have I hoped.  My heart shall exult in Thy salvation.  I shall sing to the Lord who delivers goods to me; and I shall sing to the name of the Lord Most High.

Leave a Reply

