Translating Psalms (15)

Some of the expressions in this one really stretch the Latin.  It’s interesting to think about the difference between what St. Jerome was trying to capture with them and what someone like St. Anselm read in them.  I leave these spots in the translation discordant to draw attention to them.

“Conserva me, Domine” (Psalm 15)

[1] Tituli inscriptio, ipsi David. Conserva me, Domine, quoniam speravi in te.

Inscription of the title, of David himself.  Preserve me, O Lord, for I have hoped in You.

[2] Dixi Domino: Deus meus es tu, quoniam bonorum meorum non eges.

I have said to the Lord: You are my God, for You have no need of my goods.

[3] Sanctis, qui sunt in terra ejus, mirificavit omnes voluntates meas in eis.

For the holy ones, who are on His earth, He has made marvelous all my wills in them.

[4] Multiplicatae sunt infirmitates eorum, postea acceleraverunt. Non congregabo conventicula eorum de sanguinibus; nec memor ero nominum eorum per labia mea.

Multiplied are their infirmities, after they have hastened.  I will not assemble their little gatherings of bloods; nor will I be remindful of their names through my lips.

[5] Dominus pars haereditatis meae, et calicis mei: tu es qui restitues haereditatem meam mihi.

The Lord is the part of my heritage, and of my chalice: it is You Yourself who repay my heritage to me.

[6] Funes ceciderunt mihi in praeclaris; etenim haereditas mea praeclara est mihi.

Lots have fallen to me in splendid things; and indeed my heritage is splendid to me.

[7] Benedicam Dominum qui tribuit mihi intellectum; insuper et usque ad noctem increpuerunt me renes mei.

I will bless the Lord who delivers to me understanding; especially and even unto night my bowels have rebuked me.

[8] Providebam Dominum in conspectu meo semper, quoniam a dextris est mihi, ne commovear.

I will foresee the Lord in my sight always, for He is at my right side, lest I be moved.

[9] Propter hoc laetatum est cor meum, et exsultavit lingua mea; insuper et caro mea requiescet in spe.

On account of this my heart has been made glad, and my tongue has exulted; especially also my flesh rests in hope.

[10] Quoniam non derelinques animam meam in inferno, nec dabis sanctum tuum videre corruptionem.

For You will not abandon my soul into hell, nor will You give Your holy one to see corruption.

[11] Notas mihi fecisti vias vitae; adimplebis me laetitia cum vultu tuo: delectationes in dextera tua usque in finem.

Known to me have You made the ways of life; You will fill me by happiness with Your face: delights in Your right hand even unto the end.

Leave a Reply

