Translating Psalms (22)

Super-famous, super-short, and super-cool that it follows on the heels of Psalm 21.  Of course most people know this one, or the opening line at least, under the title of Psalm 23.  The Latin doesn’t shake out quite the same but you can still hear all the echoes:

“Dominus regit me” (Psalm 22)

  1. Psalmus David. Dominus regit me, et nihil mihi deerit:
  2. in loco pascuae ibi me collocavit. Super aquam refectionis educavit me,
  3. animam meam convertit. Deduxit me super semitas justitiae, propter nomen suum.
  4. Nam, etsi ambulavero in medio umbrae mortis, non timebo mala, quoniam tu mecum es. Virga tua, et baculus tuus, ipsa me consolata sunt.
  5. Parasti in conspectu meo mensam, adversus eos qui tribulant me; impinguasti in oleo caput meum; et calix meus inebrians quam praeclarus est!
  6. Et misericordia tua subsequetur me omnibus diebus vitae meae; et ut inhabitem in domo Domini, in longitudinem dierum.

A Psalm of David.  The Lord rules me, and nothing shall be lacking to me:

in the place of pasture there has He gathered me.  Above the water of restoration He has led me out,

my soul He has converted.  He has led me above the paths of justice, on account of His name.

For, even if I shall walk in the midst of the shadow of death, I shall not fear evils, for You are with me.  Thy rod, and thy staff, these have consoled me.

You have prepared in my sight a table, against them who trouble me; You have anointed my head in oil; and my chalice intoxicant how splendid it is!

And Thy mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and so I may dwell in the house of the Lord, in length of days.

Leave a Reply

