Translating Psalms (24)

I’ve been using Douay-Rheims Bible Online (www.drbo.org) as my source for this little Vulgate project.  Just happened to stand at the head of Google’s list of a “psalms vulgate” search.  When you need a quick Septuagint check, just head over to www.newadvent.org

“Ad te, Domine, levavi” (Psalm 24)

[1] In finem. Psalmus David. Ad te, Domine, levavi animam meam.

Unto the end.  A Psalm of David.  To You, O Lord, I have lifted up my soul.

[2] Deus meus, in te confido; non erubescam.

My God, in You I trust; may I not be put to shame.

[3] Neque irrideant me inimici mei : etenim universi, qui sustinent te, non confundentur.

Nor may my enemies ridicule me: for indeed all who rely on You shall not be confounded.

[4] Confundantur omnes iniqua agentes supervacue. Vias tuas, Domine, demonstra mihi, et semitas tuas edoce me.

Let them be confounded, all those doing iniquities pointlessly.  Thy ways, O Lord, show to me, and Thy paths teach me.

[5] Dirige me in veritate tua, et doce me, quia tu es Deus salvator meus, et te sustinui tota die.

Direct me in Thy truth, and teach me, for You are God my savior, and on You have I relied the whole day.

[6] Reminiscere miserationum tuarum, Domine, et misericordiarum tuarum quae a saeculo sunt.

Be remindful of Thy mercies, O Lord, and of Thy mercies which are from the age.

[7] Delicta juventutis meae, et ignorantias meas ne memineris. Secundum misericordiam tuam memento mei tu, propter bonitatem tuam, Domine.

The faults of my youth, and my ignorances, may You not remember.  According to Thy mercies do You be remindful of me, on account of Thy goodness, O Lord.

[8] Dulcis et rectus Dominus; propter hoc legem dabit delinquentibus in via.

Sweet and right is the Lord; on account of this He will give law to those delinquent on the way.

[9] Diriget mansuetos in judicio; docebit mites vias suas.

He will direct the gentle in judgment; He will teach the meek His ways.

[10] Universae viae Domini, misericordia et veritas, requirentibus testamentum ejus et testimonia ejus.

All the ways of the Lord, mercy and truth, to those seeking His testament and His testimony.

[11] Propter nomen tuum, Domine, propitiaberis peccato meo; multum est enim.

On account of Thy name, O Lord, will You be propitiated to my sin; it is great indeed.

[12] Quis est homo qui timet Dominum? legem statuit ei in via quam elegit.

Who is the man who fears the Lord?  The law has He set for him on the way which he has chosen.

[13] Anima ejus in bonis demorabitur; et semen ejus haereditabit terram.

His soul in goods will tarry; and his seed will inherit the earth.

[14] Firmamentum est Dominus timentibus eum; et testamentum ipsius ut manifestetur illis.

A firmament is the Lord to those fearing Him; and his testament that He may be manifest to them.

[15] Oculi mei semper ad Dominum, quoniam ipse evellet de laqueo pedes meos.

My eyes ever to the Lord, for He Himself will pluck from the snare my feet.

[16] Respice in me, et miserere mei; quia unicus et pauper sum ego.

Look back upon me, and have mercy on me; for alone and poor am I.

[17] Tribulationes cordis mei multiplicatae sunt; de necessitatibus meis erue me.

The tribulations of my heart are multiplied; from my straits rescue me.

[18] Vide humilitatem meam et laborem meum, et dimitte universa delicta mea.

See my humiliation and my labor, and forgive all my faults.

[19] Respice inimicos meos, quoniam multiplicati sunt, et odio iniquo oderunt me.

Regard my enemies, for they are multplied, and with wicked hatred they hate me.

[20] Custodi animam meam, et erue me; non erubescam, quoniam speravi in te.

Guard my soul, and rescue me; may I not be put to shame, for I have hoped in You.

[21] Innocentes et recti adhaeserunt mihi, quia sustinui te.

The innocent and right have clung to me, for I have relied on You.

[22] Libera, Deus, Israel ex omnibus tribulationibus suis.

Free, O God, Israel from all its tribulations.

==

Personally I love the word “delict” in English, but they tell me we don’t talk that way anymore.  Well, we should.  But I guess I can be convinced to say “fault” instead.

I refuse, however, to give way on “remindful.”  Unless you let me have “memorious.”  Either way, I’m keeping an English word that lets me use a genitive object naturally.

I am constantly perplexed by using universus instead of omnis.  To me universus sounds bigger, as in “the whole universe of my faults.”  The fancy reason, I suppose, is that universus turns that multitude of sins into one thing.  I’d rather just use omnis.

6 thoughts on “Translating Psalms (24)

  1. Sorry I fell behind on following your psalms series. I’ve been very busy the last few weeks.
    I offer proofreading in reparation: “and of they mercies”. 😀

    Like

      1. I was doing the Nineveh-90 thing. Did you see anything about that? Were you able to do anything special for the 100th anniversary of the May 13th Fatima apparition? I spent the day at Knock. They have a pilgrim statue of Our Lady of the Rosary there for the month of May.

        Like

      2. I had not heard of Nineveh 90. Looks interesting.

        I don’t have a strong Fatima devotion, or any of the apparitions for that matter. I haven’t done any consecrations or whatnot since I was in college. I might feel differently if I lived near Knock!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I have that new convert zeal! I’m probably as annoying as an ex-smoker! 😉 It is a great blessing to live so close to Knock.
        Changing the subject: what do you think of the latest Dr Who episodes?

        Like

Leave a Reply

