Translating Psalms (25)

A sixth of the way there.  If I’d started at the beginning of Lent I may have finished the whole thing.  As it is, I think it’s time for a break after this one.

“Judica me, Domine” (Psalm 25)

1 In finem. Psalmus David. Judica me, Domine, quoniam ego in innocentia mea ingressus sum, et in Domino sperans non infirmabor.

Unto the end.  A Psalm of David.  Judge me, O Lord, for I in my innocence have I entered, and hoping in the Lord I shall not be infirm.

2 Proba me, Domine, et tenta me; ure renes meos et cor meum.

Test me, O Lord, and try me; burn my kidneys and my heart.

3 Quoniam misericordia tua ante oculos meos est, et complacui in veritate tua.

For Thy mercy is before my eyes, and I have been pleased in Thy truth.

4 Non sedi cum concilio vanitatis, et cum iniqua gerentibus non introibo.

I have not sat with the council of vanity, and with those waging iniquities I will not enter.

5 Odivi ecclesiam malignantium, et cum impiis non sedebo.

I have hated the assembly of the malignant, and with the impious I will not sit.

6 Lavabo inter innocentes manus meas, et circumdabo altare tuum, Domine;

I will wash among the innocent my hands, and I will surround Thy altar, O Lord;

7 ut audiam vocem laudis, et enarrem universa mirabilia tua.

that I may hear the voice of praise, and tell forth all Thy marvels.

8 Domine, dilexi decorem domus tuae, et locum habitationis gloriae tuae.

O Lord, I have loved the ornament of Thy house, and the place of dwelling of Thy glory.

9 Ne perdas cum impiis, Deus, animam meam, et cum viris sanguinum vitam meam;

May You not destroy with the wicked, O God, my soul, and with men of blood my life;

10 in quorum manibus iniquitates sunt, dextera eorum repleta est muneribus.

in whose hands are iniquities, their right hand is replete with bribes.

11 Ego autem in innocentia mea ingressus sum; redime me, et miserere mei.

I, however, in my innocence have I entered; redeem me, and have mercy on me.

12 Pes meus stetit in directo; in ecclesiis benedicam te, Domine.

My foot has stood on the straight; in the assemblies will I bless You, O Lord.

==

 

Leave a Reply

